All about Fashion Festival on Decentraland

All about Fashion Festival on Decentraland

Read time: 4 mins 7 secs

This is a weekly newsletter brought to you by a former fashion editor, aka me, Lina. I will particularly cover digital wearables and their role in the gaming and fashion industry.

The Wearables Daily will feature and acknowledge all industry talents and tell their stories.

INTRODUCTION

This is so much fun.

As an ex-fashion editor and a reporter, I just got so excited when I learned that one of my favorite digital fashion brands - The Fabricant, is coming to my favorite Metaverse - Decentraland.

I know - I was born to do this. To report exquisite fashion events that will go down to history. So I hope you all claimed your PAOPs on those vending machines!

Besides the so-awaited event, so much has happened in Decentraland this week. I am excited to tell you all about it! 

THE EVENT

Pre-event

Digital fashion house The Fabricant, originally founded in 2018, focuses on its co-creation platform The Fabricant Studio. There, you can mint high-resolution NFTs co-created with the most talented artists. It's simple - choose the garment, style it with fabrics, add colors and mint it.

The latest campaign - is a collaboration between The Fabricant, material creator Anna Dart and a blue-chip NFT project, World of Women. Even though all NFTs were minted on the FLOW blockchain, this week, they all came alive as skins in Decentraland, which is backed by Ethereum. 

An ambitious 3-day event, for many The Fabricant NFT holders (I am a holder myself), was the very first Metaverse experience.

Why did I choose to report you all about it? I hang in Decentraland daily. So them coming to my space was one of the best news this month!

Entering

As The Fabricant NFT holder, I was supposed to fill in the form with my details a couple of months ago to ensure I will have my Decentraland skins and crypto purse (as a VIP ticket to the event) in my MetaMask. The team dropped items manually, so it took quite some time, as many users (myself included) missed the form and woke up to see they had no skins on the first event day. 

With many users expecting to get their skins, The Fabricant Discord was lit on fire during those days. Later, we discovered that the drop was only available for those who minted two or more The Fabricant x WoW NFTs. If I had known that, I would definitely have minted more of them! 

Please note that I follow many Discord channels, so sometimes, it's impossible to keep up with all of them. It doesn't mean this information was not disclosed earlier. 

I realised, I wanted to be included in this historical moment, so I went to buy some custom skins for my avatar myself. First, I purchased a high-resolution outfit NFT on OpenSea, that misled me NOT to be a Decentraland wearable. Well, no worries. I love supporting my favorite brands.

Later on, I decided to purchase a VIP crypto purse on Decentraland (I had one in my Blocto wallet, which was not compatible with Decentraland) and one skin. I was eager to participate in a contest to win a fantastic Super Nova purse without any knowledge of what utility it has. 

This is how I would look like with Super Nova purse, haha. (At the time of my writing winners are not selected yet.)

Super Nova purse

As an active Decentraland user, I checked The Fabricant profile on the marketplace and found out that they have some free merch available - a hat, earrings, and sunglasses. I minted them immediately. On day 2, the VIP area was equipped with the same free wearables for purse holders. I kept hush-hush that I minted them even before I purchased the bag. 

Free The Fabricant wearables

The event

RLTY and The Fabricant did a great job creating a monument to digital fashion. The Fabricant displayed the most iconic designs in separate windows in the venue and outside. Users could easily buy the outfits without leaving Decentraland. The easy and smooth process was really satisfying.

A real talk of the town was 5 coins scattered all over the place (for some people, it was hard to find them, but I love a good challenge). As I collected them all, I was able to get my coin collector PAOP, along with many other PAOPs that were available.

x Coin collector PAOP

x Main attendance PAOP

x First, second, and third-day attendance PAOPs

That was a bit confusing, as there was no written information about what they meant and what is the difference between them. But hey, no one refuses free PAOPs, right? Maybe they will come in handy in a few years or so.

The venue

During these three days, there were various events and talks held by The Fabricant team. As a result, users got to know the creators and The Fabricant team, who are the key to a successful NFT project. I feel way more connected with the team now, as I chatted with them while playing the race and hide and seek at the closing event.

Even though Decentraland was super laggy during the closing event, and everything kept crashing, I'd say The Fabricant team did a great job creating a super fun experience for Decentraland users and newcomers.

The one thing I would suggest is to grow their marketing team, as I believe they are going to the moon soon!

The closing party

COMMUNITY

I asked people how they enjoyed the event, and these are the responses:

And these are the best The Fabricant x WoW looks:

Kay, ManaDaiquiri & SUPERNINA

CK bubbles

K3

SPACES

# Scott Moore aka @AwedJob

In this week's space, I talk to Scott, who is probably more known as AwedJob. Listen to our space to learn what Scott is doing IRL and how he sees the future of the Metaverse. Super quick and insightful talk.

SHORT INTERVIEW

Brand & Metaverse Strategist, Future Trends Expert, Ambassador WoW x The Fabricant Fashion Collection

What is your idea of the future of digital wearables?

Digital wearables will become a huge part of fashion in the future, because they are sustainable, fun and hugely creative. Whether dressing an avatar or yourself with AR, they offer endless possibilities for expressing yourself. We spend more and more time online and it's a logical step that we want our digital identities to be just as fashionable as in real life. 

How do you feel about utility in digital wearables? Should they all become our tickets to front-row shows?

The utility of digital wearables can be a wide range of things: from access to front-row shows, accompanying physical product drops, to participation in metaverse events or simply being a super cool skin to wear in a game. When launching digital wearables, brands should not copy other brands, but think about what fits best with their DNA. And that is the beauty of this particular time right now: there are so many possibilities to create customer engagement with these new technologies. It's a time to be bold and creative and to experiment. 

Is phygital the new normal? Tell us what you think.

Again, I don't think one model fits all. Phygital makes a lot of sense for web 2.0 brands taking steps into web 3.0, because it makes the shift between real and digital easier for both the customer and the brand. But eventually, what's real and what is not won't matter anymore. Generation Alpha kids have no problem owning "digital-only" assets, they don't care if something doesn't exist in real life. They are already living in this "new normal" where boundaries between the physical and virtual world disappear.  

THE FABRICANT X WOW IN DECENTRALAND MARKETPLACE

Welcome to the curated wearables place. Here are my personal favorites from The Fabricant WoW collection. These wearables are worn as skins, which means it changes your avatar completely. But you can add accessories like bags, auras, eyewear, and necklaces.

#1 Tunic

#2 Queen's Dress

#3 Little Red Dress

CHARTS OF THE WEEK

Wearables creators by total volume of sales in the past 7 days, Decentraland

 #1 DappCraft #2 Saus #3 thefabricant #4 tangpoko

Wearables creators by total volume of sales in the past 30 days, Decentraland

INTERESTING AND WORTH CHECKING

#1 The very first Decentraland hug

#2 1/1 digital Burton Morris puffer jacket sold for 5,000 MANA

Disclaimer: I have to say this - this is not financial advice! 🙈

Follow me on Twitter for a daily dose of Metaverse. ✌️If you're wondering who I am, check my links.