Welcome to the party

Welcome to the party

Read time: 1 coffee

This is a weekly newsletter brought to you by a former fashion editor, aka me, Lina. I will particularly cover digital wearables and their role in the gaming and fashion industry.

The Wearables Daily will feature and acknowledge all industry talents and tell their stories.

How to spend time in virtual worlds

This Friday, I wanted to give you some sense of what people do in virtual worlds. I recently wondered whether the value of being in the virtual world is already there. No secret; it's a bet that early adopters are willing to take by spending their time, energy, and money.

The truth is, even if the community is still very small, it's not only fun to work and hang out with these people but also they are the ones who will onboard future brands into web3. By creating consulting businesses or agencies - with the power of knowledge and connections in the space - they will win.

I had the pleasure of organizing the party in one of my favorite virtual worlds - Decentraland. And I must tell you, it's not as easy as it might sound. Our realm, which hosts 100 people, was almost closed, as, at the party's peak, we had 95 guests. Today, I am sharing my insights, lessons, mistakes, and joy!

The build

It was so much easier for me overall because I already had the pleasure of getting to know the community. I was truly focused on creating an experience that the community would like. And that was super easy because I am part of it. 

I knew that it takes a lot of technical knowledge to build and deploy a virtual build in Decentraland. It's even harder if you have a specific vision of what it should be. That's why I knew I had to have a technically familiar team with Decentraland's SDK - I chose to work with House of Tang. Company founded by community member Tangpoko.

I softly briefed the team to make a build that says "fashion." Cheesy, I know. Either way, light pastel colors, fluid shapes, and transparent details created the feeling of style and simplicity. It had to be perfectly modeled for a couple of reasons. First, people who would join the experience via their computer had to see a clear view and navigate through it easily. Second, it had to be something worth sharing on socials!

The idea

In my experience, just an event won't gather people. It has to be something worth waiting for. Droffo chose 5 creators to create wearables with no stress of selling them. Commissioned work was gifted to the first 50 buyers as a goodie bag. There were 5 MYTHICS: meaning 1 design had only 10 pieces available to mint. The competition was fierce because those limited edition goodie bags were selected for the shoppers randomly. It was sold out in 17 minutes.

METATIGER picture

The fun

Spending time playing a virtual social game with bad graphics might seem strange. But there are so many layers to it. The most important one is connecting with people, and, again, I hear how cheesy it sounds. But think about it, if you're a big brand coming to virtual worlds, you will need these people to enter, approve, and work with you on your venture. In addition, these people appreciate art, design, and creativity, which is my favorite part.

With that being said, the party was illustrated by the wonderful artist - Serena Elis. Solid tunes, sophisticated sound, and vibrant visuals created the true experience at the event. In the virtual world, it's almost the same as IRL - think about all senses that need to be touched.

There were several games where guests could win event wearables. The fashion hunt, selfie contest, and buying something on the Droffo platform. At this time of writing, a few spots are left to participate in the 100MANA giveaway on the platform, as one of 100 buyers will have a chance to win solid shopping money. 

The aftermath

Don't underestimate a true fashionista. People who love virtual fashion gathered to celebrate artists of their time. Most sophisticated looks were demonstrated that beautifully complimented the fashion show during the event. Here are some of my favorite moments in pictures done by METATIGER.

I know this night will go down in history as one of the most fun virtual nights we all had together!

To advise someone willing to organize a virtual party: consider the party the same as in real life. Planning a party is literally communicating with everyone every day. Get ready for notifications!

x DROFFO COLLABORATION WEARABLES

Let's all take a moment and appreciate creators that worked with Droffo and launched their new limited wearables during the party.

#1 Doll Face by Doki

#2 Athletic Wear by Tangpoko

#3 Hoodie by SMMonsters x Michi Todd

#4 Ornate Lobster Leggings by ManaDaiquiri

#5 H'Tenk the Insatiable by FeekaCafe

INTERESTING AND WORTH CHECKING

#1

#2 

#3 

Disclaimer: I have to say this - this is not financial advice! 🙈

Follow me on Twitter for a daily dose of Metaverse. ✌️If you're wondering who I am, check my links.