Race in the Metaverse with Nikki Fuego

Race in the Metaverse with Nikki Fuego

Read time: 1 coffee

This is a weekly newsletter brought to you by a former fashion editor, aka me, Lina. I will particularly cover digital wearables and their role in the gaming and fashion industry.

The Wearables Daily feature and acknowledge all industry talents and tell their stories.

Introduction

The last newsletter of 2022 is all about racing through the metaverse. Today, I invite you to spend the day with Nikki Fuego, founder & creator of Vroomwayio, a P2E racing game in the Decentraland metaverse. Vroomway is a Decentraland game that utilizes digital wearables in-game. By creating fashion items, Nikki lets players get different perks in her game. At the same time, those wearables also carry the flag of Vroomway throughout the world, where people can be seen partying, playing, or just hanging around wearing them.

Interview

Finding Decentraland

I've always been an artistic person. I started my artistic journey as a graphic designer. In November 2021, I looked into metaverses because I was just introduced to the crypto world via Dogecoin. I actually tried out Sandbox first. At the time, they would let you play only 24 hours for free, and then you had to buy a $500 Alfa Pass. So I ended up researching other ones. I saw an ad on Twitter about Decentraland. I immediately checked it out and went to a Wonderzone; it was like the first thing on the board when you popped in at Genesis Plaza. I remember walking in Wonderzone and being amazed because I saw all these avatars that looked different. Being able to play a game on a social platform was also intriguing. That day, I met my first friend, and he sent me my first wearables, which was also my first NFT. And from there - I was hooked.

Starting the journey

I was even more hooked when I realized that those wearables he sent me were made by regular people and not the foundation team. It showed that this is a creator's platform, something I have always wanted to experience. And it was not gated by any metrics, or social media, where you had to have X amount of followers or views to monetize your content. In Decentraland, you could earn money instantly if you had a good design.

I started working with streamers to help them make wearables so I could learn. Before this, I hardly had any 3D experience. I watched KJWalker's tutorials, and she taught me how to make a wearable. And from there, I just kept creating. I spent three months making 150 wearables because that was like a peek of wearables submission, and I was getting all kinds of commissions. I was amazed because I've never been able to make art and have it appreciated so fast in my whole life. And in three months, I was making money doing what I love: art.

Finding the identity

I went from creating for others to creating more seriously for myself and released my first set of Mythics (10 items of one fashion wearable - editors' note) in Fashion Week, which sold out. One of them sold out in 20 minutes, which was insane! And being able to make a car wearable, one of the first VroomVrooms I have ever made for Decentraland, really put me on the map. And that whole concept obviously evolved into creating Vroomway.

Now, I am completely involved in Web3, 100%. It is surreal because I was the person who always struggled. I worked from paycheck to paycheck at those awful desk jobs. Being in Decentraland was a life-changing experience. Nobody in my family believes me when I tell them how I pay my bills. (Laughing.)

Back in February, when I released VroomVrooms, people would race their VroomVrooms through Decentraland, and I loved the idea. So I put on a huge token-gated event called Grand Prix. So the owners of VroomVrooms would race for 1/1 unique helmets. And that event really created a little community of vehicle and racing lovers. And once I realized how successful Grand Prix was, I went to every game and developer to ask what was possible with my new idea for Vroomway. I gathered a bunch of information, and I just learned.

Future of fashion wearables

Wearables are a catalyst for any web3 platform because it is just another form of self-expression. Avatars are crucial all across digital media. The fact that we have access to high-resolution, 3D digital assets, which represent who we are as people, can transcend many platforms and industries and combine them all.

We found success in cross-gaming promotion as we collaborated with Wonderzone, one of the top games in Decentraland. We sold one skin that works in both games and holds unique perks.

Vroomwayio x Wonderzone WonderVroom skin

Touring the Decentraland metaverse with Nikki

After I had such a pleasant chat with Nikki, which I couldn't put all in writing because you'd probably need more than one coffee to read this, we were headed to play a game. Not any game, but the one that Nikki created with her team - Vroomway.

The lobby

Nikki tells me Vroomway is a safe space for all people. Bad actors are immediately kicked out of the game, and their wallets are disabled for this scene. Meet the main character - Yoyo. After the new update, Yoyo will be able to show the new players around the game.

You'll find showcased game vehicles, a gas station, and portals to different game areas in the lobby. Nikki created this particular vehicle inspired by Nikki and Doki's fashion week wearable (on the right).

The tutorial area

I am starting to wonder how I can get one of those vehicles. A few of them are on display, but by playing the game, you can craft your own vehicle, and you'll need materials. Nikki takes me to the tutorial space, where I learn what materials I will need for crafting different wearables.

Solo sprint

Solo sprint area

Next, we explore the solo sprint area, where players race for the best time. The major resource you will get from this area - is experience.

Gathering area

Gathering area

Spend fuel to gather materials that you'll need. A chill zone where you don't have to worry about speed. Just enjoy kicking barrels and collecting rewards.

Nightclub

As we go to a different game zones, Nikki tells me about instancing technology that they've been using in the game. As we jump to different areas, the location stays the same, which means that the game is re-building the scenes for the players.

The nightclub area is a dedicated space where all community gatherings happen. It is initially called re-charge because tired players can come ar re-charge their fuel here. You'll also find wearable vending machines where you can shop Vroomways creators' and partners' fashion.

Wearable vending machine

Fuego Circuits

Fuego Circuits

You'll find five different maps in Fuego Circuits. This area supports up to eight racers. Here, Vroomway is literally making the world move around the player, generating the view as we race. It makes it incredibly immersive. Try to hit green arrows, which will boost your speed, and avoid orange ones!

Find Nikki's wearables here

Interesting and worth checking

#1

#2

#3

Disclaimer: I have to say this - this is not financial advice! 🙈

Follow me on Twitter for a daily dose of Metaverse. ✌️If you're wondering who I am, check my links.