My secret life of playing a virtual world game

My secret life of playing a virtual world game

Read time: 2 mins 7 secs

This is a weekly newsletter brought to you by a former fashion editor, aka me, Lina. I will particularly cover digital wearables and their role in the gaming and fashion industry.

The Wearables Daily will feature and acknowledge all industry talents and tell their stories.

INTRODUCTION

I love talking with people I don't know! It's exciting, and it's very inspiring. The best part is that I can connect even with those who prefer to stay anonymous IRL, and that's perfectly fine. The Internet allows us to express ourselves and create our digital twins based on how we feel, not what different societies, cultures, or families want to see.

Participating in a social experiment called hanging out in different virtual worlds really broadened my perspective on what creativity is. Also how people might want to lead their professional and financial lives. It taught me that there's definitely not only one way to become an art director, artist, or... journalist. And also, monetization can have so many different names here.

Participating in such an immersive experience, some creators feel like they belong with the community hanging around the Decentraland more, because sometimes there are not many IRL people with the same interests. And this is what makes the community even stronger and creates new opportunities for virtual collaboration. And it's OK to have your life, in some way, divided. Like Tangpoko said, she lives a very different life here in the Metaverse.

I know that subscribers of this newsletter are curious and open-minded, so today, I am telling you the story of my week in the Metaverse!

Decentraland

SPACES

#1 SUPERNINA

Listen to our talk with SUPERNINA. We talked about the future of technology, like 3D printing your own fashion at home, and how it really works to manage IRL activities with being in the Metaverse.

#2 Tangpoko

Catching up with Tangpoko, a woman who's building the Metaverse. We talked about new projects she's currently working on and teased a little about the future of Tangpoko in Decentraland.

#3 Malloy

My last talk with Malloy gave me some real inspiration about how the Decentraland can be a life-changing place. Previously Malloy worked as a 3D artist in a company for almost 6 years. Competing in this king environment tired him, but since he joined the Decentraland as a creator, he grew as a person and creator. Now, he's one of the busiest creators in the ecosystem.

SHORT INTERVIEW

Scott Moore

Tell us more about how Decentraland looked like when you joined the space and what was your first thoughts about?

Decentraland looked like a 16bit rendering of a Nintendo 64 because that's the only way I could get it to work on my computer. My first thoughts about it were, "This is amazing!" because I had heard about it in 2017 or 2018 as a concept. Built on a FOSS stack and accessed through the blockchain. Both things I have been enthusiastically supporting for over 10 years.

How wearables evolved during that time? 

I started in DCL in December 2021. Wearables had simple textures. Areas of color. Since then, a lot of creators have introduced a higher level of detail and realism. Pushing the limits of the limited geometry of DCL characters.

In your eyes, what is the future of wearables?

Higher quality of meshes and textures. Better weighting of vertices. More integration with activations and events as creators develop detailed roadmaps. Michi often talks about a creator’s brand. More attention will be given to this by the creators as we gain experience and wisdom.

NOTEWORTHY IN DECENTRALAND MARKETPLACE

Welcome to the curated wearables place. This time, I selected a few goodies available on the Decentraland marketplace to buy for less than 1 MANA.

#1 Lion's Pajama by 0x239b

#2 Mana-Decentraland Jacket by Wallase#51dd

#3 LAVENDAR PUFF CARGOS by NUNCHUCKNABEE

CHARTS OF THE WEEK

Wearables creators by total volume of sales in the past 7 days, Decentraland

INTERESTING AND WORTH CHECKING

#1 New Decentraland Emotes by DappCraft

#2 Catching Up with DOCTORdripp

#3 Fabricant will host fashion show in Decentraland next week

Disclaimer: I have to say this - this is not financial advice! 🙈

Follow me on Twitter for a daily dose of Metaverse. ✌️If you're wondering who I am, check my links.