👯‍♀️Diversity in the Metaverse

👯‍♀️Diversity in the Metaverse

Read time: 2 mins 45 secs

Hi to all 53 subscribers that trusted me to deliver interesting insights to their inboxes! 👋

This is a weekly newsletter brought to you by a former fashion editor, aka me, Lina. I will particularly cover digital wearables and their role in the gaming and fashion industry.

I will do what I do best - listen and report. ✍️

So The Wearables Daily will feature and acknowledge all industry talents and tell their stories.

INTRODUCTION

To bring more attention and awareness to the diversity in the Metaverse, I wanted to share some numbers I recently came across (thanks, Tangpoko!).

In this newsletter, I will feature the most diverse and unique people I have met in Decentraland. 🌐

"Consumer interest in the Metaverse continues to grow exponentially, with interest from women growing at a rate of +15% month-over-month. However, metaverse experiences are still largely geared towards men-with males dominating the creation and purchases of virtual goods."

EWG Unlimited. April 2022. Meltwater Social Listening [Elite World Group Talent]. Published by EWG Unlimited.

Find the full research here.

Let's make those numbers rise. Onboard at least one member from the under-represented group today!

EVENT OF THE WEEK

The first MVFW Summer Gala combines the creativity and passion of Decentraland's most prominent designers of the past year to produce the largest and most cutting-edge wearable Museum Decentraland has seen!

In the spirit of art imitating life and vice versa, the Gala will feature an exclusive red carpet event, two nights of entertainment, and your chance to participate in a silent auction that will host artwork and wearable designs from Decentraland creators and community members.

What to wear?

Designer Michi Todd introduced his wearable, which was created exclusively for Gala runaway. Here's the inspiration behind Michi's design:

"My outfit was inspired by local Singaporean flora and city style. In a modest but stylish space, I found a few people wearing high-waisted pants, making it look really good. Considering the plants all growing in a hot climate and flourishing. During a bear market, we are still growing. I made this material from this plant. 👇"

"I'm matching my fit with No Signal bag by @metajewels_io and Retro Yellow Shoes I designed for @_BrokenBrand_"

Shop those amazing pants here!

Spice it up with some of my personal choices

From left to right: #1 KingX | Metaglasses by KingX | #2 Kraken Journeyers by KevinOnEarth | #3 The 5 elements ’water’gown top by DigiFun | #4 Soul Shine by SoultryDubs | #5 Green Glow Strapless Heart Dress by EyesofFashion

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW

Creative director, nail artist & Decentraland citizen: ck・シケ (they/them)

Tell us more about what Decentraland looked like when you joined the space and what was your first thoughts about it?

When I joined DCL almost 5 months ago, it was a wild time of new. I came in for the Grimes concert at the end of MVFW and stayed because of the community I felt at BabyDolls. I really had no expectations coming in, but I’m glad it was fashion and music that were a part of my origins here.

How did wearables evolve during that time?

Wearables have evolved in my time in interesting ways. There have always been cycles of style trends, but what’s influenced some booms in wearable publishing lately has been driven by increased publishing fees and the creation of new games/experiences. But what I most love about wearables in my time here is seeing more elevated high fashion clothing have its shine. I live for avant-garde and the drama of it all.

In your eyes, what is the future of wearables?

What I hope to see in the future of wearables will be more smart wearables and education/access to them. So we can turn these amazingly stunning looks and give them an equally stunning capability or function. If we can push the limits of how something looks, we can push the limits on how it can go beyond just clothes in the metaverse!

CHARTS OF THE WEEK

Wearables creators by total volume of sales in the past 7 days, Decentraland

WOMEN CREATORS IN DECENTRALAND TO WATCH

I asked the community to help me create the best upcoming female wearables designers list. Here's who people nominated:

METAVERSE NEWS I READ THIS WEEK

#1 Small businesses, digital designers make millions in Metaverse

#2 Looking for love in the Metaverse

#2 South Korean web 2 Metaverse platform Zepeto gets a web3 makeover

Disclaimer: I have to say this - this is not financial advice! 🙈

Follow me on Twitter for a daily dose of Metaverse. ✌️If you're wondering who I am, check my links.