Business trip to Spatial

Business trip to Spatial Pt.1

Read time: 1 coffee

This is a weekly newsletter brought to you by a former fashion editor, aka me, Lina. I will particularly cover digital wearables and their role in the gaming and fashion industry.

The Wearables Daily will feature and acknowledge all industry talents and tell their stories.

Introduction

Today, I invite you to join Spatial, one of the most active metaverses. Spatial is a venture-backed VR and web platform for creating one-click NFT galleries and exhibitions that bring people together. 

Exploring a new metaverse on your own might be a bit overwhelming, and I was lucky to be invited to a private tour by my virtual friend Supernina.

Welcome

Entering Supernina's place on Spatial is easy. I followed the link she dropped me on Twitter, and I am in. Of course, I had previously created my Ready Player Me avatar, which is needed to go around Spatial.

She greets me with a welcome sign and tells me how easy it is to move objects around and create the space. This particular space of hers is custom-made in collaboration with another community member. "There are plenty of cool places you can choose from to set as your place. They are also well-designed and absolutely free of charge", says Nina.

Traveling between spaces is also easy. Nina opens a portal for me. She's preparing me for our Friday girls' night in the metaverse. The cool thing about this place is that we communicate by voice. I can see her avatar moving accordingly, and our sound is smooth. If there were other people in the room, they could hear us too and would be able to join our fun chat.

I feel great - I can easily move around. The main frustration - I can't get a good look at my avatars' face as she keeps turning her back to me. Supernina teaches me how to use emotes by pressing numbers on my keyboard and how to sit.

The crowd

I am curious, who usually comes here, and what kind of crowd can I expect? 

"Aesthetics really attracts different people. The people who come here are not thinking about playing games. It's more about design and art, community. Or even hosting music events. Even motivational speakers come here to speak because you can easily put a screen in your space and stream. I can add a Youtube video here and share it with the crowd.", says Nina.

Monetizing

There are no direct approaches how to monetize your time here on Spatial. You can design spaces, sell them, or promote your work outside Spatial and link them. For example, Supernina has her NFTs displayed - you can follow the link and buy them on a third-party website. 

Also, the is no such thing as virtual land here. Everyone can have their place, as it's free and full of great options to customize it. "Also, I am not a technical person, but Spatial lets me move and add things very easily here," says Supernina while adding a gigantic champagne bottle in the middle of the room. 

The fashion

I could recognize Supernina in different metaverses from her signature blue hair. I believe every metaverse fashionista has a way of expressing a unique style using different graphics or tools. 

Even though Spatial collaborates with Ready Player Me, only specific avatars are available on the platform. However, fashion brands are still active here. The great example that Supernina told me about was Tommy Hilfiger's activation. By collaborating with Ready Player Me, the fashion brand released a skin available for you to wear inworld. Well, this might sound like a simple create-and-sell situation, but the trick was - it was totally free. All you had to do was claim it on the Hilfigers' website because there is no marketplace here where you can shop directly.

I am asking about what Supernina wears today. She tells me that she chose this simple default look from Ready Player Me options to go along with her blue hair. I noticed her shoes, which reminded me of Prada shoes inspired by classic cars. 

The plans

We agreed to meet here again on Friday late evening. Supernina has a full itinerary ready for me, and I feel like I am on a business trip. Curious? Follow our wild night on Spatial in my next newsletter. I can feel it will be very fun!

Fashion spotlight: steal the look

Try stealing the Decentraland look from these beautiful ladies. ❤️‍🔥

Ney is wearing: 80s Workout suit by StMaria; Sleek Straight Side Bangs by Doki; Doll Face by Doki; Gen 2 Royal Magician's Crown from the Wilderness.

Interesting and worth checking

#1

#2 

#3 

Disclaimer: I have to say this - this is not financial advice! 🙈

Follow me on Twitter for a daily dose of Metaverse. ✌️If you're wondering who I am, check my links.